Weeeeekend + MMMM


It is 8 AM on the dot and my office – my entire building – is exceptionally quiet; Spring Break. Only, employees still have to work. In a way, it’s a really great time to catch up without interruption. I DO have a lot to do, actually. But for now, I am drinking my coffee and listening to music, which I shall share with you in a minute.

The weekend was both crappy and good, weather-wise. I committed to trail running with a friend of mine and, luckily, the rain did hold off long enough. We ran about four miles and then retreated to Starbucks to chat and catch up. She and I had been one week off on training schedules and hadn’t really run since maybe September. And of course, she found out she’s having a baby in August so there’s THAT. 🙂 The afternoon was for naps and when we all woke, it was pouring rain but we had to make a grocery run; I didn’t have crushed tomatoes to make dinner. It continued to rain through the night but when we woke up Sunday, the sun shone through. But that was only after Elliot barged in around five, still asleep but afraid of something. Right after putting him back in bed, I made sure the heat was set to come on and went back to our room where, not five seconds after turning off the fan, the power went out. At that exact moment, Ell had gotten up to use the bathroom and the lights went out on him. He spazzed, got in our bed – which I don’t normally allow – and that lasted all of five minutes before I went with him into his room for about an hour of useless sleep. The power was intermittent for a while but finally leveled off around 9 AM.

Though it was only around 62 degrees by noon, I went out to tan. In the direct sunlight, it was certainly not cold. I needed that though; needed something for myself. My parents come into town this weekend because Ash and I have a race on Saturday. I’m looking forward to it; I need a break, need the kids to be excited about their grandparents.

***************

Photobucket

I just felt in a Sade kinda mood today. I popped in her Greatest hits CD soon as I got into my office (the only place I even have CDs anymore, oddly enough) and am jamming out. Hopefully you will enjoy these too.

7 thoughts on “Weeeeekend + MMMM

  1. Sounds like you all had an interesting weekend to say the least.
    It’s always fun when little boys sleep walk. They say the most interesting things.

  2. Oh, Sade makes me want to head to the Caribbean!
    Your weekend had all the weather but I can’t stand it when my morning or should I say my night is cut short, I use to want to roll over and hide under the covers when my little ones were bugging to get up. Glad you got to ‘sun’ in the afternoon and get a little me time, oh and good for you and running, something I could never do but I do walk!

  3. Nothing like the electricity getting knocked out during the night. Usually, I’m clueless unless my DH wakes up and that’s when I call the utlity company to report. Other wise, I don’t anything til the power comes back on and the alarm clocks flash continously unless I hit a button. The weather has been so crazy. We had some bad storms, but got through them fine, then yesterday it was so cold. A few flurries were floating around early on, but by the afternoon the sun came out and warmed up in the upper 50s. Today it’s a bit cool, but as the week goes on things are expected to improve. Enjoy your spring break. Isn’t this a bit early? Thanks for linking up and sharing Sade with us this Monday!

Talk to me